Skip to main content

Grayhound - Reviews

Helming Grayhound is easy if you are 6

Grayhound Sailing Lugger - First Atlantic Circuit

"We’ve had two idyllic sailing trips, so far and one fantastic day scrambling over big volcanic rocks down a deep, craggy valley to a black sand beach with dramatically-high cliffs where Grayhound was waiting, attracting attention because she’s so beautiful and unique. Swimming out to her in the clear waters of the Atlantic rates as one of life’s highlights." 

Grayhound in Brittany and the UK

Fantastic, exhillarating, and an honour to be on such a ship. Aspects I enjoyed most ? - "All of it. Sailing in a force 8 and on shore activities. The whole experience was superb." Next voyage ? Douranenez or Brest. Which vessel ? "Any but Grayhound on top of my list." 5 stars for website, booking arrangements, welcome, accommodation on board, safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time. Des, on Grayhound May 2013, 6 day West Country Voyage:

Best aspects - "Recapturing a brief view of sailing in the peice of 'living history' that Grayhound represents and the chance to add to my megre knowledge thereof. The excellent company of genuine all round sailors and the discussions about the minutiae on board, from the conception to the fact that brought this wonderful vessel into being. Discovering some small aspects that were becoming common to me from pevious experience. Skipper Marcus's friendly instruction to a tyro, Freya's lasagne and Malachi's company. The wind in my face and the swell beneath." To sum up the day - "A wonderful collection to add to my new collection of sail and sea." 5 stars for welcome, accommodation on board, safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew.  amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time. Barry on Grayhound in May 2013. 6 day West Country Voyage:

" I am in awe of Marcus and Freya and what they have achieved. Best bit - "sailing a unique vessel"   5 stars for welcome, safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. , amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time. Bob on Grayhound May 2013, French Voyage to Binic -

 "Outstanding and unforgettable experience.  Loved learning the lug rig, meeting the crew and other guests; playing an active role on board." Charlie on Grayhound May 2013. Charlie is an experienced skipper and RYA Yachtmaster offshore. He went on to be a first mate on Grayhound.

"Top notch." Enjoyed the overall ambience, great company, very clear instruction." 5 stars for welcome, accommodation on board, safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, felt safe all the time. What vessel next time ? Grayhound longer trip or pilot cutter. Tony on Grayhound in May 2013

below decks meals on Grayhound
below decks meals on Grayhound

5 Star Reviews on Customer Feedback Survey Forms

Our best bits were: 1. Miriam climbing the mast on her 12th birthday, full of the cake that Freya had baked on board, fresh from blowing out the candles and hearing everyone sing; 2. taking part in exciting and fun sailing - from sweating and tailing sheets, to navigation and helming; 3. rowing ashore to explore a variety of otherwise hard-to-reach islands. Penfret super for wildlife and beaches. Houat particularly good for the museum, village and the seafood creperie (didn't have chance to try all the other restaurants!). Not to mention a unique history, genuine "green" cargo and being the most beautiful boat in the sea! B. Sellick- Grayhound- 27th May 2018

"A superb experience, unlike any other sailing I have experienced in 50 years or so.The captain, Marcus was very knowledgeable and capable, his wife, Freya an excellent cook and the crew Pierre and Jasper, not forgetting Georgia, were great company, very patient and added to the joy of it all.Highly recommended." - Grayhound 4th June 2018 Nantes to Douarnenez

‘Life changing in the best way possible. Forget climbing the Everest, diving with whales or becoming a Buddhist monk for a month. Sail on the Grayhound Lugger with Freya and Marcus and you'll get as close to your true and possible self as you could ever be.’ Brad Florescu - 06/04/16

Best bits ? "Active involvement in sailing and rowing: learning how the boat was made and works: shore visits, wonderful meals: evening discussions: being with the skipper and crew: nice guests. It was an excellent opportunity to learn about historical sailing: experience teamwork and being with individuals: experience working with and being part of nature." 5 stars for welcome, food quality, skipper and crew.  felt safe all the time.  Will T, on Grayhound 

"Exceeded expectations. Loved Under sail moving along, rigging the sails." 5 stars for website, booking arrangements, welcome,safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time. Jim on West Country Voyage

 "Brilliant sail on an interesting boat with friendly and knowledgable people. Best bits - sailing in the sunshine to start with but also sailing in stronger winds later" Customer Questionaire: ***** 5 stars for quality of sailing, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time.Steve, Cornish Voyage 

"I feel privileged to be present on this unique boat on its maiden voyage. Aspects enjoyed most - Sharing in trying aspects of this boats rig which had not been attempted before. " What aspect of our holidays persuaded you to book with classic sailing ? "I luv you guys." Maiden Voyage. John, on Grayhound 

Sailing in West Penwith, Cornwall  on Grayhound
Sailing in West Penwith, Cornwall on Grayhound

Day Sails Feedback

"This was a one day trip that was a fantastic experience. My previous sailing has been in yachts and it was awesome to sail with wood and canvas. A truely fantastic and privileged experience to sail as they did 200 years and more ago." 5 stars for welcome, safety briefing, quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time.Where next ? Azores Dartmouth Day Sailor Stephen

"It was a superb experience to be onboard such a lovely vessel especially as we had been allowed into Marcus' and Freya's home. Working the ship and being taught how to make it all come together was a unique and very special experience. I would love to do it again for much longer than just one day in Start Bay." Phillip- Day Sail

"A grand day out. It was all very hands on. We were complete novices and we learned lots." 5 stars for welcome,  quality of sailing, food quality, skipper and crew. personal attention – a lot, amount of sailing-just right, felt safe all the time. Amy, Grayhound day sailor June 2013

"I would like to say a heartfelt thank you for a day made of sparkling, dancing light. It has been a great privilege to have had the opportunity to learn from a crew so passionate and skilled on a living piece of living maritime history." Amy S. 

"We got very lucky with the weather on the day I sailed on Grayhound. The sun was out the wind was up and we were racing in the Falmouth Classics. What more could you ask for?! The best bit was jockying for position with our arch rivals on other boats.

Marcus, Freya, Jasper and Pierre, were brilliant. They treated the day like a proper race and drilled us to run as tight a ship as possible when tacking, etc. Great experience!

Lunch and the cream teas were spot on too, Freya!"

"The whole experience (for a non-sailor) was absolutely amazing. I brought the day sailing trip as a Christmas present for my partner. I also brought myself a ticket to join him and I wasn't overly keen to go but how wrong was I! I loved it and so did my partner. Highly recommend."

"My friend Alfie and I had a 7 hour trip on the Grayhound out of Plymouth on 29th June 2018. From the moment we arrived at the mooring point, we were taken care of and made to feel welcome. The crew were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful at all times and the food was excellent. Although you are encouraged to join in with rigging the sails and steering the ship, you can do as much or as little as you want without any pressure. A thoroughly enjoyable and memorable day out with an outstanding crew - even the weather was perfect." - Dave H. 

Lowering lug sails at the end of the day on Grayhound
Lowering lug sails at the end of the day on Grayhound

Relevant voyages

Vessel Start Date End Date Start Port End Port Price

What others say about us

CURRENT AVERAGE   4.6 STARS
197 REVIEWS

Facebook reviews

"A life changing experience with talented crew who gave us hope for mankind ...and biscuits"

Customer comments

Read what the press say about our holidays
 

Magazine articles

 

Why book with Classic Sailing?

The call of the sea

Destinations for sailors & explorers

Over 300 voyages a year

11, 051 customers introduced to

traditional boats and tall ships.

Tell us your sailing dreams

Experts

Office Team of 4 Skippers

6 Times Around the World between Us

Selling Holidays for 22 Years

3 Dogs to make us laugh

Contact Us

How to Book

Voyage Applications Online 24 /7

How to book a voyage

Terms & Conditions   Travel Insurance

Office open Mon - Fri, 9 - 5

Frequently Asked Questions